VNC server on Beaglebone Black

[ NTP time update ]

In the quest to configure wpa2 enterprise through the network manager GUI, I am trying to view the BBB’s desktop. Using an HDMI cable just gave me another login screen. I think I read somewhere that that’s because I didn’t have a keyboard plugged in. That might just apply to a specific OS though…

Anyway, direct HDMI didn’t work, so tried exploring the startx option again. Still couldn’t figure out, and then I came across an alternative: setting up a VNC server. That sounded good, so this followed:

  1. sudo apt-get install x11vnc
  2. sudo apt-get install xvfb
    This was to avoid ‘xvfb could not be found‘:
    xvfb
  3. Got ssvnc on the computer I am using to type this out!
  4. sudo x11vnc -create
    create
  5. This results in a wait loop. That’s when I initiated the connection from ssvnc:
    none

Interestingly, instructions online also include running:

x11vnc bg o %HOME/.x11vnc.log.%VNCDISPLAY auth /var/run/lightdm/root/:0 forever

I am not sure if this is just a one-time setup instruction. I have been able to reset the BBB and establish a link without typing this out (or running a script for it.)

I still didn’t get a GUI in the end. Maybe I am just missing the lxde tools (that’s a big set of packages!)

noGUI

Leave a Reply

