A noobEE gets a Pi

So, we got a Raspberry Pi with an SD card all-set with an OS. But of course, I wanted to do everything from scratch, so I formatted the card clean off of its OS, and then decided to google out how to put an OS back on it. This should’ve taken about 10 minutes. Maybe 30 minutes, if I wanted to read a little more. But, it took me way longer than that. Partly because I didn’t realize that SD cards came with a “lock” feature. Electrical engineer? Yes. NOOB OS? Yes. So, that makes me a noobEE.

photo

Retracing my mistakes:

Initially, I did try hard to not use an easy GUI, but copy-paste instructions into the [ command line ]. But that didn’t seem to work.

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 12.20.59 AM

Next, I struggled to figure out if I should just copy paste the unzipped NOOBS folder (like a noobEE), or if I should learn more about [ “flashing” an SD card ]. I tried flashing through [ Raspberry Pi SD card builder ], and got a shell script error, then moved to the ApplePi Baker (GUI!) That’s when I could detect the card, but couldn’t write to it. And finally, I noticed the lock on the card. Things feel better now.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 11.09.22 PM

The person behind this wonderful program uses an interesting header:

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 12.27.23 AM

One thought on “A noobEE gets a Pi

Leave a Reply

